Now that I’m a Mum…

A baby with a cold has turned my world upside down for the last couple of weeks so haven’t managed to blog. As a Mum, I now know how horrible it is to have a baby with a cold and temperature, who can no longer sleep at night because he can’t breathe! How awful it must be when you breathe only through your nose and it gets blocked.

There are all sorts of other things I now know/do that I’m a mum…

…I haven’t braved using a nasal aspirator but I have picked my baby’s nose!

…my washing machine and tumble dryer are on more than they are off

…every journey I do is planned around feeding my baby

…every journey I do comes with a lot more baggage, the pushchair, the changing bag, the baby!

…going out without a pushchair/sling makes you feel like you’ve gone out without your arms

…I understand how comforting an “all’s quiet here” text from the babysitter is

…I say, “life’s not fair”, “make sure you wash behind your ears”, “are you sure you’re going to be warm enough?” (My baby can’t talk yet so this is to my husband)

…most conversations I have are unfinished

…I repeat most conversations because I cannot remember who I’ve talked to about what

…a good night’s sleep is measured by different standards now, it’s all about the long chunks of sleep

…I rock and sway constantly, even when I’m not holding the baby

…I go shopping (a lot!) just to be around people (even though I’m not talking to them) and to keep my baby napping

…I sniff my poor baby’s nappy a lot

…I’ve caught baby spit-up in my hands so as not to get it on my clothes!

…I understand why Mums use phones/iPads for their kids

…I’ve sucked a dropped-on-the-floor dummy ‘clean’

…I’ve worn clothes with wee on them because I can’t be bothered to wash them again and who can tell anyway?

…I’ve done that annoying thing of licking my finger and wiping the baby’s face

…I know what it is to my love my baby to pieces but, after a day together alone, to count down the minutes until my husband gets home to join us!

 

3 thoughts on “Now that I’m a Mum…

  1. Annie says:

    Hi! I’m so sorry I didn’t spot your comment previously! Yes! I take JJ to a music group at St. Stephen’s hall, very impressive to recognise it from such a small shot!

    Like

Leave a Reply

