Games night – G date

It’s been a hectic few weeks (again) without an alphabet date. We did have an evening a few weeks back that we called a ‘Good date’. The hubby made delicious food, we watched trashy TV, I drank Gin and we just had a good evening. Sometimes, at the end of a long day, that’s just what the evenings call for!

But, we saved our official G for a games night with friends.

My husband likes strategy board games. The kind of games a group of guys play in dimly lit rooms whilst drinking whiskey. When I first got married I said I would never play Settlers of Catan as I believed I would not like it. I don’t know why I agreed to play one day but I’ve been hooked ever since. We once housesat for 2 weeks and played every day during the little guy’s nap.

We’ve been trying to get some new friends over for the evening for ages and hadn’t managed it so when we were able to coincide our free evenings we were set for a games night.

To make more time for games we opted for nibbles rather than dinner. It was such a lovely evening. I feel that often when we have couples over we feel like the expectation is to do dinner. But, it was so nice to do something different. I also feel like you get to know someone well when you can see how they play a game.

So, a little cheating with two G dates but both were fab.

What are your favourite games to play? I love a good game recommendation! Our faves our Settlers, Monopoly Deal, Phase 10, and the Emoji game and Obama Llama (both were new to us at Christmas and really fun!)

3 thoughts on “Games night – G date

  1. mealsandmakes says:

    Good fun! Its a great idea to do games night with friends (and nibbles rather than dinner), we enjoyed carcassonne (which is probably like settlers) at Christmas, but have not played it since. Time to dig it out of the cupboard…

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

